365 Happy Days

365 Happy Days

IMG_3218

“Traveling, it leaves you speechless, then turns you into a storyteller”

As much as I love meeting tourists in my home country, I love visiting places I’ve never been and meeting people I’ve never met.

There is a saying from the Chinese — “ 10 thousand books will never give you the experience of traveling 10 thousand miles”. What you read in books does help you learn, but experience is something very precious as well. It is the spoken culture left untold, the friendly people hidden from the pages and the glamorous cities indescribable.

I still remember the day when a cheerful old man walked by, seeing me frantically asking for directions in English — a language spoken by few in that country.

It was mid-day and the sun was scorching. Sweaty and exhausted, I have taken a bus and found myself nowhere in the outskirts of the city, with few people and an oddly placed McDonalds in the middle of the road. I didn’t speak the peoples’ language, nor did they speak mine.

GoogleMaps showed me bus routes that were non-existent, and no one had a clue about what I wanted.

I was exhausted.

Until this old man walked by and offered me help. Although he spoke short phrases and simple English, he patiently called me a cab (you had to order a cab with a phone, if not you wouldn’t be able to find one) and helped me with my directions.

I was very very grateful someone came out to help, especially when there was no one around me.

It might not be a very big offer to others, but it is exactly these moments that make the entire trip worthwhile and meaningful. These are the moments too precious to be forgotten; these are the people hidden from the pages of my books; this is the country, that I would never understand through a mere book.

“Traveling, it leaves you speechless, then turns you into a storyteller.”

For more feel free to click onto my instagram
https://www.instagram.com/sunkissedcamera/

2 thoughts on “365 Happy Days

Leave a Reply

